photogrid_1478488376388

 

 

{EPISODE TWO}

Part 3

Omeonim’s Restaurant

Harry stormed into the restaurant upon receiving Woo jin’s call. Panting like he was being chased, he hurried to where Woo jin stood to examine him.

“Hyung, are you okay?” he asked worriedly. “Are you hurt?”

“Do I look like someone who something is wrong with?”

Calming down, he studied him, “Ani, you look fine. If nothing is wrong, why then did you call me like that asking for help? How can you call someone like that when there’s nothing wrong.”

“How did I call you? I only told you I needed your help and that you should come over here.”

“And I came running here, thinking something happened to you. Anyways, since you’re fine, it’s a relief. What do you need my help for then?”

Woo jin pointed to the lady who had passed out on the table in front of him and it was only then that Harry realized that the drunk lady was acquainted with Woo jin. Looking at Woo jin, he tried to understand the scene clearly.

“So, hyung,” he started. “What you’re saying now is that you called me from miles away to come over here…..” he paused and pointed to the lady. “……because of a lady?”

Woo jin nodded making Harry give an unbelievable look. “Hyung, really?” he asked again and Woo jin nodded. Laughing to himself, Harry sat down. “Is this some kind of joke?”

“I want you to take her with you.” Woo jin told him. “I can’t leave her here and neither can I take her to the police station where I won’t be able to watch her. That’s why I need your help with this.”

“Hyung, you really called me out here because of this lady? Someone I don’t even know?”

“Is the fact that she’s someone I know not enough.”

“So,” he started folding his arms. “Where do you want me to take her to?”

“Where else?”

“My apartment? No way! That can’t happen! Why do I have to share my first night in my new apartment with someone I don’t even know? That definitely can’t happen.”

“Ya!You rascal!” Woo jin snapped. “Where did you spend your first night after getting back to the country? Uhn?”

“Hyung, that was because I was drunk! Why would I want to spend my night with you in the first place if not because the situation warranted it.”

“But you spent it already, why don’t you do this and just think of it as repaying a favor?”

“Ah!” he nodded his head giving a sarcastic face. “Repaying a favor right? Okay. I’ll do it on just one condition.”

“What do you want?”

“Hyung, loan me money.”

“Hey, you rascal! What do you think you’re doing asking a detective to loan you money, do I look like a bank? And I don’t expect someone like you to ask for a loan. Do you want to keep on with living like this?”

“Just loan me money, will you? I’ll pay you back when I get paid.”

“Harry.”

“Hyung. Now that I think of it, it doesn’t sound like a condition. What’s the use when I’m going to pay you back anyways. Better still, you can consider it as payment for her staying the night in my new apartment.”

“What do you need the loan for?”

“You don’t expect me to stay in the same room with someone I don’t know, right?”

“Fine. I have to get going now. I’ll call you when I’m done.” He replied as he turned to leave only to be pulled back by Harry.

“But hyung, who is she?”

“Eun ju.” He replied looking at her. “Im Eun ju.”

Shaking his head, Harry stood up to help the lady up. “Hyung, you’re really getting old, aren’t you? I mean, who cares what her name is? Who is she to you, hyung, who is she to you? That’s what i’m asking?”

“A donsaeng! She’s like a sister to me.”

Harry paused and looked at him sternly. “Donsaeng? Hyung, are you a charity brother or what? How many dongsaeng do you have? Hye jin, myself, Ella and this lady? Who else? Who else don’t I know of? Uhn? Who else?”

“There’s no other person!” he defended quickly.

“Why are you denying strongly then? You’re not daddy longlegs, so stop adding more dongsaengs to the list! If at all you would, make it a guy, I want someone calling me hyung too.”

“Rascal!”

“But why does her name sounds familiar?”

“She was Hye jin’s friend back then.” He replied. “Has your car arrived?” he asked trying to change the topic.

“It’s arriving tomorrow”

“Should I give you a ride?”

“You said you have work to do. Don’t worry, I’ll get a taxi.”

“Arasso.” He replied looking at his wristwatch. “I’ll send the money to you. I can’t promise I’ll call you but give me a call when you get home.”

“I will.”

 

Ommeonim’s Restaurant

Ji ha rushed over to where Ji hyun was, but getting to the entrance, she hesitated to enter as she watched Ji hyun for a few minutes. She had stopped by Ye jun’s place to tell her about what she planned to do. It was the first time she’ll be having a drink with Ji hyun ever since she started having feelings towards him and she planned on telling him about it.

“Do you think this is the right time?” Ye jun had asked her.

“It doesn’t matter if I do it now. I would have to do it one day.” She had told her in reply.

Finally able gather the courage to enter, she approached him and stood in front of him until he asked her to seat. Ji ha felt very anxious as she watched Ji hyun pour her a drink. Noticing the sweat on her hands, Ji hyun could tell she was very anxious. Sighing, he tried to think of a way to make her feel better.

“Will you eat ddeubokki? It goes well with soju.”

Still feeling very anxious, she hid her hands underneath the table glancing at the drink in front of her and then at Ji hyun.

“Sorry I came late.” She apologized.

“It’s okay, I haven’t been waiting for that long.” He replied smiling.

Ji ha’s aim that night was to tell him about her feelings for him,  but deep down in her, she felt strange.

“Why suddenly?” she asked curiously

“Eh?”

“Why did you suddenly call me out for a drink?”

“You wanted to us have a drink together, didn’t you?”

“Right. I was very surprised when you called me to drink with you. Ever since I’ve been asking you to have a drink with me or be my drinking buddy, you’ve never agreed and you’ve also never told me ‘no’. I’ve always been the one asking to have a drink together. I’ve asked you more than ten times, but I always get rejected, so why now? Why are you suddenly agreeing to have a drink with me? Why now?”

“Ji ha……”

“Ah,” she interrupted. “They say when someone who keeps on asking for something from another person is always rejected, and then the other person finally agrees to do it, it’s not because that person really wants to do it, but because the person wants to put an end to those demands. After all, he’s human and he can get easily tired of things like that.” She paused and looked straight at him. “Is that why you’re agreeing to finally drink with me? You’ve gotten so tired of me asking you that you finally decided to call me out to drink with you so I won’t bother you again, right?”

“It’s not like that?” he defended himself.

“Then what is it like?!” she asked raising her voice as tears welled up in her eyes. “If it’s not like that, what is it like? If you don’t like someone, then let the person know! Pitying the person isn’t right! If you don’t like someone, don’t confuse the person! But why do you keep on making me misunderstand your actions! Why do you keep on doing things to make me confused!” Pausing, she didn’t take her eyes off him as the accumulated tears in her eyes flowed down her cheeks. When he said nothing, she wiped her tears and sighed. “It’s my fault. It’s my fault for misunderstanding. It’s my fault for getting confused and thinking of something else. You don’t have to worry. I won’t bother you anymore. Helping me out, lending me your shoulders and even prolonged conversations, you shouldn’t do any of those anymore. Since it’s the way I feel, I’ll endure it, I’ll work on my feelings so I won’t bother you anymore. Till I’m able to get myself together, till I’m able to stabilize my feelings, let’s not talk to each other often, starting from now.” Pausing, she looked down at the drinks on the table before looking back at him. “When that time comes and when I finally feel okay, I can then agree to have a drink with you.”

Picking up her phone on the table, she stood up. “If you don’t have anything to say, I’ll leave first.” Bowing her head a little, she walked out. Ji hyun stood up immediately and followed her out calling her name after her. “Ji ha. Ji ha!”

Stopping in front of the restaurant she turned back. “If you have anything to say, say it now and I’ll listen. I might not be able to listen to you later.”

“It’s not all about you hearing me out alone.”

“Then it’s about what?” Pausing, she noticed the look on his face. She had known him for a very long time and she could tell what he wanted to say just by the look on his face. She wasn’t sure of what he wanted to say, but she knew whatever it might be, it wasn’t going to be something she would like to hear.

“If it’s about what I’m thinking about, then I don’t want to hear it.” She told him.

“Ji ha.”

“I’m serious, I don’t want to hear it.”

“I’m sorry.”

“I said I don’t want to hear it!” she shouted amidst tears. “Didn’t you hear me?! What are you apologizing for?! What exactly are you apologizing for?! Why would you do something you’ll end up apologizing for? Why?”

“I’m really sorry.”

“What’s the point of apologizing!” she ranted as she started hitting him. “Why don’t you say something else! Say something else! Was I really the only one who felt that way? Was I? Was it really just one sided?” she asked as she continued hitting him. “Was I the only one? You really don’t feel anything for me, right? Answer me!”

“I have nothing more to say.”

Crying softly, she stopped hitting him. “Jeon Ji hyun, I hate you! I hate you! I really really hate you!”

 

Ji ha’s Apartment

Very early the next morning, Ji ha stood up to prepare for the day’s work. Walking into the bathroom, she stood in front of her mirror only to notice how rough her hair was. “When last did I wash this hair?” she asked herself as she picked up her toothbrush and toothpaste. Sighing, she opened the tap and started brushing her teeth and all of a sudden, she stopped.

“Ya! Ji ha! Why do you have to drink before you go? Stop drinking now!” she heard Ye jun’s voice.

“Ah, what was that?” she asked hitting her head with her other hand.

“Stop it now, Ji ha. Drinking won’t help at all.”

“I have to tell him today. He finally called me out.” She heard herself reply.

Washing her face, she sighed as she remembered taking a few drinks when she went to see Ye jun before meeting with Ji hyun the previous night. “Did I get drunk?” Shaking her head vigorously, she proceeded to take her bath. Few minutes later, she was already prepared for work although it was still early for her to leave. Usually, she would use that time to take her neighbors daughter to school before going to work, but now that they moved out already, she didn’t know what to replace the time with. Just then, she remembered she had not seen her new neighbor. Hurrying out of her apartment, she stood in front of her neighbors’ and knocked on the door. There was no reply the first, second and third time she knocked.

“Is someone inside?” she asked as she kept on knocking. “Hello!”

Just then, the door went open slowly as a young lady presumably about Ji ha’s age stood at the entrance of the door with disheveled hair. “Who are you?” she asked with not so bright eyes.

Ji ha smiled as she entered. “I’m your next door neighbor, Han Ji ha. I heard you moved in yesterday but I was unable to check on you last night, that’s why it’s the first thing I’m doing this morning.” She explained as she looked round the house. “Whoa! You really changed this place! This is so nice! I’m sure everything must have cost you a lot. Omo! Your apartment is so nice! You have a guy’s taste. It’s somehow similar to my brother’s apartment, but it’s nice!” Pausing, she turned to look at the lady who was looking very confused. “Did you sleep well?” she asked her.

Ignoring her, the lady walked round as if looking for something.

“Is something wrong?” Ji ha asked noticing her confused look. “Is there something you’re looking for? I can help you! What is it?” she asked walking up to her.

“I….I…” she stuttered.

“What is it?”

“Where am I?”

“Eh?”

Puzzled, Ji ha held her hand up and sighed. “Are you fine? If there’s anything wrong, you can tell me, uhn.”

“Where am I? What am I doing here?”

“Are you okay? Do you want to go to the hospital?” she asked placing her palm on her forehead. “You don’t look too well.”

“Where is this place?” the lady asked as she made way for her bag.

“This is your apartment.” Ji ha replied as she followed her.

“Ani!” she replied quickly. “Where are my shoes?”

Ji ha noticed a pair of green shoes beside the couch, but she couldn’t tell her because she was worried the lady might not be in her right mind. Thinking about it, she wondered why she was acting that way when she just moved in. she was probably suffering from a psychological disorder wherever she was coming from.

“Did something happen? Do you want me to call the police?”

“Where are my shoes?!” she shouted loudly as if she was asking Ji ha to look for them for her.

“Excuse me, you have to answer me so I can help you. What is it? Are you being threatened? Or is it a stalker? If you can’t tell me because you don’t know me, should I call the police?”

The lady stopped what she was doing and walked up to her. “I….I don’t know where I am or how I got here and neither can I explain what I’m doing here, but can you help me with something?”

“What?”

“Who lives here?”

“Eh? Ani, are you not the one that just moved here?”

“Me?”

Sighing, Ji ha concluded that the trauma must have been very difficult for her to bear that she lost her mind.

“It’s okay.”Ji ha told her. “I don’t know what happened, but don’t worry, everything would be fine, okay.” Bringing out her phone, she decided to call a doctor.

“What are you doing?” she asked her. “With that?” she added pointing to her phone.

“This?” she asked raising it up. “Calling.” She replied.

“Who?”

“Just…..a friend?”

“Ya! Do you think I’m crazy?”

“Me? Ani! Why would I think you’re crazy?”

“I really don’t know where I am.”

“I know. I know. I know how difficult it must have been for you and I’m ready to……”

She was interrupted by the sound of someone trying to open the door. Confused and puzzled, they both looked towards the door before looking at themselves.

“Who is it?” they both asked themselves.

“I should be the one asking you that.” Ji ha told her.

“I don’t know.”

“How can you not know! Who is after you?”

“No one!”

“Ah, seriously! What have I gotten myself into this morning? Are you not going to hide?”

“Why should I?”

“Why…why….why should you?” she stuttered. “I mean, you’ve been acting weird all along and I know something is wrong. What if someone is after you? Shouldn’t you hide at least?”

Just then, the door went open making both of them freeze. Just like in slow motion, a guy with a black face cap and black overalls walked in and slammed the door shut behind him startling them in the process. Ji ha held the lady’s hand as he walked towards them.

“You’re still around?” he asked as he removed his face cap only to notice the presence of another lady. “Who is that?” he asked as he moved closer. “Did you call your friend over?”

Ji ha summoned the courage to face him as she released the lady’s hand slowly. She didn’t know who the lady was or who the guy was, but if she wanted to help her new neighbor, she had to start from somewhere, like right there.

“Yes. I’m her friend!” she replied as she looked straight at the guy only to open her eyes wide in surprise like she had just seen a ghost.

Episode two ends.

Comments.

Share your thoughts...

