INSPIRATIONAL AYOMIKUN ADMONISHES


IMG_20160607_102427_420

Give yourself that love.

Are you always waiting for people’s compliments to make you happy? Are you always dreaming of having a boyfriend /girlfriend that will shower you with all the love you deny yourself?Bell Hooks once said “ one of the best guides to Self-loving is to give ourselves the love we are often dreaming about receiving from others ”. So many people deny themselves love but expect to get it from another person or people, are you in that shoe?.

 

When I got into the university, I usually fantasised about meeting ‘My awesome boyfriend ’, who would give me gifts, love me, take me out and compliment me. However, I realized not too late THAT I was being SILLY, wasn’t I? How could I imagine someone else giving me the love I was withholding from myself? I remember the words of Lucille Ball, she once said“ love yourself first and everything else falls into line. You really have to love yourself to get anything done in this world ”.

 

Do you know why some people find it very hard to love other people?  Most times it is because they have not loved themselves first. Loving yourself gives you the capacity, ability and the potential to love other people. Now I really want you to ask yourself this question “ do I really love myself,even with all my imperfections? I hope the answer you get does not shock you.

 

So remember, it is all about loving yourself totally and sharing that love with people and not looking for love in order to compensate for your self-love deficiency.

By Akinlosose Ayomikun Faith.

Bio

I am Akinlosose Ayomikun Faith, a 200L student of the department of CLA in the University of Ibadan. I am from the family of four. I hail from Ondo state in Nigeria. Writing gives me the ability and avenue to fully and clearly express myself. I started writing because I loved speaking and due to this I had to improve on my writing and also my older brother was a good motivator for me to keep writing.

My philosophy in life is do unto others what you want them to do to you and for you to be great you have to do things that have not been written in books. I write so as to motivate people, make their lives better, happier and purpose-driven.

Share your thoughts...

