FROM THE STABLES OF ‘FALLING WORDS’ anthology

Bubbles

The sea is bubbling tonight

The tides are falling

The sun is down

The moon takes its place

Birds are singing night tunes

The snakes aren’t left behind

 

But here in the deepened spirit of my heart

A host of rumbles gang up in there

Right there in my innermost world

It seems I’m alone in the planet

A chariot of willful thoughts

Charade right there

 

Where is the fire?

Where is the flame?

Where is the furnace?

Where are the faces?

 

All I could see is the fire of war

All I could see is the rending of kingdoms

All I could see is topsy-turvy

My heart needs a slight rest…

Ogenie

 

Bubbles

The sea is bubbling tonight

The tides are falling

The sun is down

The moon takes its place

 

Birds are singing night tunes

The snakes aren’t left behind

But here in the deepened spirit of my heart

A host of rumbles gang up in there

 

Right there in my innermost world

It seems I’m alone in the planet

A chariot of willful thoughts

Charade right there

 

Where is the fire?

Where is the flame?

Where is the furnace?

Where are the faces?

 

All I could see is the fire of war

All I could see is the rending of kingdoms

All I could see is topsy-turvy

My heart needs a slight rest…

Ogenie

 

Blank Space

My life is open and uncovered

My head is void

I can’t recollect anybody

I can barely recognize

Who really I am

 

The inner man is safe

From whirls of the wicked

But my body is unsafe

It lives in parody

In the streets of this world

 

But from a wise man’s mouth

Came the word of truth

Myself to find and restore

The open sepulchre to close

My void life to fill

 

I weep no more

For I’ve been wept for

And I cry no more

For I’ve been cried for

All I’ve been given

 

All I have in penury

All riches in poverty

All Muse in dry ink

All surplus in deep hunger

For the world,the Word and the weird.    Ogenie

Bio

A Nigerian poet, playwright and novelist who has much delight in poems that change the mind of individuals and who will always love to see people change their thinking about things pertaining to life and living

Name:Oyedele Olusegun I.

Pen name: Ogenie

Department: English

School: University of Ibadan

State of Origin: Oyo

Hobbies: writing poems, reading novels, playing and watching football and listening to foreign music.

Share your thoughts...

