Why Hide His Name in the Closet (Conclusion)

I'm a Child of The King! Photo Credit: Google

I’m a Child of The King!
Photo Credit: Google

“But it…it…” Kelvin stammered confusedly.
“Adesanwood means that the Crown has paid for my wood; Adesanpencil, the Crown has paid for my pencil; Adesaneverything, the Crown has paid for everything. You know what that means?” I asked, but I did not wait for them to answer the question, “It means that I can not suffer since the Crown does not suffer. The Crown cannot suffer because it is the symbol of a king…and a king does not suffer. So, that makes me the child of a king!” I concluded with glee.
I stood there for some seconds, waiting to see whether he had anything to say to counter my statements. Rather, their mouth hung slightly opened and their faces looked as if the puzzles on them would never leave.
I walked away, smiling contentedly.

That very moment was their last…of making fun of my names.

A decade and three years later, while she lay seriously ill on her deathbed, she told me weakly “I was behind you in the class that day, when Charles and Kelvin first made jest of your names. I stood, silent, behind you, waiting to see whether you would defend yourself. But you didn’t. Rather, you walked away, ashamed of your names…our names. I walked away too, sad and ashamed of your inactions. The following morning, at school, I stood silently again, some feet behind you, watching you defend our names. And when you walked away proudly, I walked away too. Proud…and Happy.”
A couple of minutes later, she breathed her last. When I looked at her face, just before the nurses came around to pack her lifeless body away, I saw contentment etched permanently on it.

We were seven years old when the incidents happened.
She died of liver cancer at the age of twenty.
Her name was Emmanuella Adesanya.
She was my twin sister.

“For whoever is ashamed of Me and My words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him the Son of Man also will be ashamed when He comes in the glory of His Father with the holy angels.”
– Mark 8:38 (NKJV)

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, a for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek.”
– Romans 1:16 (NKJV)

“And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.”
– Romans 5:5 (KJV)

“For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.”
– Romans 10:11 (KJV)

“According to my earnest expectation and hope that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death.”
– Philippians 1:20 (NKJV)

“Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me His prisoner, but share with me in the sufferings for the gospel according to the power of God…”
– 2Timothy 1:8 (NKJV)

“Yet if any man suffer as a Christian, let him not be ashamed; but let him glorify God on this behalf.”
– 1Peter 4:16 (KJV)

7:30pm; 22nd February, 2016.
Home. Ibadan.

Author’s Note: Now, I know this story is basically Christian…right?
But I just had to publish it because of its foundational moral: Don’t ever be ashamed of who you are!

Share your thoughts...

