We have come to the Crossroads…

We have come to the crossroads
You hold my hands
I do not want to let go
I look into your eyes
I see in them my destination.

You plead, we embrace, you cry
Your tears fall like hail
And land on my chest
Cutting deep into my heart
To mark it yours.

I kiss your hair
And I smell the roses of the garden.
They fill me with longing for home.
I remember the warmth of our bed
And the whistle of the boiling tea kettle.

We have come to the crossroads
We stand in the middle, in our embrace
The world stands still, looking at us.
Your sobs eat deep into my soul,
I hear in them the longings of my heart.

I break away from the embrace
You give me the forget-me-not.
I stuck it in my hair
I pick up my battle axe and walk away.
I know you are still standing there.

We have come to the crossroads
Where lovers part and ties break.
Hold me steadfast in your heart.
I shall come home back to you
When the horrors of the war are gone…
…and I am not dead by then.

8:40am; 30th Sept. ’15
Home. Ib.

Share your thoughts...

